Rainstorms And Reading

Standard

Monday is my most hated day of the week, like it is for most people. It’s the day that routine starts up again. Good bye to sleeping in and being lazy. Hello to going to work, paying bills, and getting back to real life.

Last night the future hubby tells me a wind and rain storm is coming. I love the rain. At least when I don’t have to go out in it. I love listening to it as snuggle up in bed. And there’s nothing better then curling up on the sofa with a good book when it is raining. So of coarse, I was dreading work more so, because the “I’m-lazy-on-a-Sunday” part of me was thinking of how nice that would be.

Just after I showered and dressed for work this morning, I get a text. There isn’t any power in our building. You see I’m self employed, and run a salon with a friend of mine. I love being my own boss, but the downside is no clients equals no money. After talking to my friend/co-worker, we decided it was best to close the shop for the day.

My first order of business was to get the pj’s back on. That’s right, it is a lazy day for this chick. I have no children, so I have nobody to entertain but myself.

So I think I will do what I was craving to do last night: I’m going pick a book from my MASSIVE ‘To Read’ pile, curl up and dive into it. I’m debating between two novels, ‘Outlander’ by Diana Gabaldon, (I know, I know. I should have read this years ago. Blame it on the massive pile of books I am trying to get through) and ‘The Laughing Corpse’ (Book 2 in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series) by Laurell K. Hamilton. Not sure which will win out. I love big, feisty vamps just  as much as those sexy Scottish warriors.

When is your favorite time to read? What’s next on your reading list? 🙂

One thought on “Rainstorms And Reading

Leave a Reply

