Walkers And Autographs

Standard

*********SPOILER ALERT*********

How AWESOME was ‘The Walking Dead’ last night!? I’m sorry (well, not really) but I have to take a moment to squeeeee about last nights episode. It was the best opening episode EVER! OMG! What I love about this show is that horror isn’t always the gore or the rotting zombies. When Rick and the guys were kneeling down and watching the other men have their throats slit one by one, my hands started to sweat and I felt weak. I felt their fear. As soon as I heard the explosion I just knew who it was. (The fiance didn’t agree with me…loved how he was proved wrong! 😛 ) If you are a Walking Dead fan you have watched Carol change and develop so much since season one. She went from an abused woman, too afraid to stand up for herself to this awesome fighting machine. I am so back on the Team Carol bandwagon. I wasn’t really a fan of her back in the prison, but now…I want that chick on my side during the end of the world!!! It was awesome how everything came together. How she covered herself in walker guts to blend in, rigged that explosion and went after her friends. The show started with a bang (literally!) and ended perfectly. When they were all reunited, the best parts were Rick seeing his daughter, and the way Daryl ran to Carol. (I so hope they finally hook up this season…I’m not much for shipping but those two NEED to be together! Am I right???)

One of my geeky collections is autographs. I have been pretty lucky and have gotten to meet seven of the actors (at conventions. And all worth the money I paid.) I have a couple of photos but autographs from all of them. Collecting autographs is a hobby both me and my fiance have. He has way more, and it is a more recent thing for me. There’s two ways we get them.

The first: At conventions. If I have the chance to meet a celeb but can only do an auto OR a photo op, I almost always go for the autograph. You have time for a quick chat, unlike during the photo sessions. From ‘The Walking Dead’ I have met Norman Reedus, Lauren Cohen, Steven Yeun, Danai Gurira, Laurie Holden, David Morrisey and Micheal Rooker. (To all the fans of Daryl Dixon, Norman is a pretty sweet and cool guys and gives pretty great hugs 😛 )

thewalkingdead1thewalkingdead2thewalkingdead4

The second: Through the mail. Years ago I wrote to celebs with little luck. Mr.C on the other hand had lots of luck. This year we both decided to start writing again, just for the hell of it. He has had many successes, but he has also written to a lot more people then me so far. There’s a few websites you can hit up. Some are free, while others have a small fee, like startiger.com (which is what we now use). The best way to get a result is to send a self addressed stamp envelope with a photo you want signed. Sometimes an actor may return your item unsigned but will enclose a pre-print photo. Sometimes you will have no luck at all. And when you do get lucky, you have your photo sent back signed, and the odd time a small note. Greyston Holt from ‘Bitten’ wrote “thanks for the lovely letter” on the back of my photo. Mr. C recently got something from a hockey player, with a short letter inside. Here are a few that I have gotten in the mail.

DL autokyleimg045

As some of you may know, I love getting Happy Mail. And these always make my day! Do you collect autographs? How many are in your collection? 🙂

Leave a Reply

