Writing and Snail Mail

Standard

This week has been crazy with NaNoWriMo. I had hoped to get to the 25k mark by tonight, but I’m just over 20k, which I am pretty proud of. My brain is slightly becoming numb so I thought that since I am ahead of things, today would be a good day to take a break and recharge. I decided that my new goal for the half way mark will be Tuesday evening. I am pretty confident that I can do it, since I’m not that far off.

In the meantime, my overworked brain is thanking me for the day off. I started the morning off by going for a walk and getting an iced coffee. And then once I was back home, I indulged in things I haven’t done all week. I caught up on my fave websites, played a video game, and then decided to make some happy mail.

IMG-20141109-00327

So far this morning I have made two envelopes, using an old calender, some stickers and washi tape. Β The one on the left will be traveling to The Netherlands once i get the time to sit and write her. The one on the right is a surprise for a friend in the USA. I love being crafty and creative and I am jealous when I see other people create art. There are many talented people out there, no matter if it is writing or scrapbooking, and I often wish I had their talent. But I don’t let that stop me from doing the things I love. I’m having fun, so that’s the main thing. And once in awhile I create a piece of gold I’m beyond happy with.

I’m going to step away from the computer for awhile, do coffee with friends before I watch this week’s episode of The Walking Dead. And if I can manage it, I plan on putting my nose in a good book for a little while.

So, what do you do when you take writing breaks? How do you recharge during Nano?

5 thoughts on “Writing and Snail Mail

  1. Those envelopes are gorgeous! My mouth dropped when I saw them… their recipients will be so happy! I get jealous when I see others create art, too, but sometimes you gotta realize that there is someone out there who definitely jealous of YOU! Keep doing what you love and that’ll shine through in your work.
    And when I take writing breaks, especially from NaNoWriMo, I go for something creative, like art or music. If not, I bake or clean (which I seriously enjoy, for some reason).

    Liked by 1 person

    • bear1982

      oh wow!! Thank you so much πŸ˜€ I had fun making them and plan to make a few more before the day is over. Again, thank you! I am glad you like them so much πŸ˜€ And music feeds my soul, both when I’m writing and when I’m not. I have had extra tunes blasting through my ears today though haha πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Paardje

    I agree … the important thing is we’re having fun πŸ™‚ I don’t always have the time to create my own envelopes but whenever I do, it feels great and creative and I mail them off with extra pride. Happy snailmailing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi! Found you via House Organa forums. Those envelopes are beautiful! I love to make envelopes too πŸ™‚ I don’t do NanoWrimo but I’m doing the corresponding daily art challenge, and I’m a couple days behind. It seems like I have to take a day off from art every couple weeks to recharge, or just catch up with other daily obligations. Sometimes, it’s not necessarily taking a day off, but just not getting around to posting the daily art, even though I did create on that day.

    Like

    • bear1982

      Hi there!! I’ve been meaning to reply to you on the forum! πŸ™‚ Your etsy shop is on my faves list πŸ˜€ That is very cool you are doing the art challenge!! I know what you mean! I need breaks from writing to recharge my brain. And thank you! I hope to make some more this weekend πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

