The Last Dash: One Week Left for NaNoWriMo

Standard

Hey all! So who is still giving their novel a go and who has given up on the month from hell? Last night I really debated on being done with it. I even told Mr. C that I was quitting Nano but I wasn’t giving up on my novel.

That all changed this morning when I woke up and thought “Fuck it!” and sat down at my laptop where I spent several hours catching up. I had not written a word in four or five days so I was waaay behind in my word count, unlike where I started at the beginning of the month which was waaaay ahead.

I wrote just shy of 7000 words. At the end, my poor brain felt numb and worked over, but it was worth it.

About 6500 words of that is garbage. I am not even joking. I can’t wait for December 1st to roll around because when edit time comes, I know the first section that is getting a major face lift.

I’m not sure if I am going to get to write ‘The End’ come the end of the month, and that’s okay. The fact I am writing and not giving up is what makes me proud of myself. I have been thinking of goals and challenges I want to set for 2015, and one of them will be to finish and edit this feckin novel, but not until my brain has been replenished of words and stops hating me for what I do to it each November.

I’m going to spend the rest of the evening making mail art before I watch this weeks episode of ‘The Walking Dead.’ (I am super pissed there is no new episode of S.O.A this week. Kurt Sutter had to take his evil up a notch by making every one wait an extra week, didn’t he???)

How goes your battle? Hope everyone had a great weekend 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Last Dash: One Week Left for NaNoWriMo

  1. I sort of gave up… I had originally just wanted to practice writing in general, getting to 50k words of short stories and prompts, but uni life just didn’t allow me to continue with it. It’s wonderful that you kept up with it, though. You definitely should feel proud of yourself.

    Like

  2. sherrydramsey

    I hear you! I almost went to bed last night without getting my words for the day, but then I just said “Hell, no!” Didn’t get to bed until almost 2, but I felt better than I would have at 12:30 without the words. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

