Book Release!

Standard

I am feeling pretty pumped tonight. This evening was the book launch for ‘Flashpoint’, which features my newest short story titled ‘Fever’.

booklaunch2014

Here I am holding a copy of the book 🙂 It was great to get it into my hands! There’s a bit of a thrill that I get when I see my name on the back of a book, and open the pages to find the story I created in it. Almost like I’m a real author or something 😉

The launch started off with a reading from one of the other contributors. I was growing anxious, since I had been asked to do a reading as well. The last time I had done a reading was for a very small group several years ago. And the time before that, I was in high school. As nervous as I was, I was really honored I had been asked to take part. I think it is especially awesome since I have been in all four of the elements anthologies. And here I was, about to do my first big reading.

Julie (fellow writer/editor/and one of my publishers), was up at the podium next to introduce me. *gulp* What she had to say was pretty cool, so I asked her for the paper afterwards. As she read my intro, I took a deep breath and gave a fist bump to my bestie who sat next to me. Mr.C gave me a pat on the leg.

Here’s some of what Julie had to say: “…she lives with her fiance, with whom she shares a passion for all things “con”. She will be reading from her story ,’Fever’, which continues the saga of Quinn and Lily.” “-and Kerry has developed a following for her unusual and heroic lovers. Their romance has many aspects of typical romance, but with some notable exceptions. Lily likely spends less time arguing with Quinn about whose turn it is to cook supper, and more time getting mad at him for spilling his glass of blood on her white table cloth, yet again.”

I thought this was really cool. She made it personal and also included my characters, which have been in all four anthologies. (And a following?! So that makes, 2 fans now? 😉 )

I got up, took another breath, and read the first scene from my story. I felt like a train wreak but was told afterwards how calm I came off. Sweet! I was even told “I’m going to have nightmares thanks to you. I can’t wait to get home and finish reading your story!” (I guess the blood part got to her. Cool! 😛 )

After I was finished, there was a break for refreshments. I had my copy signed and also signing books for others. (AKA my fifteen minutes of fame.) There were two more authors to read, including my long time friend, Sherry Ramsey.

booklaunch2.2104

Sherry read from her self published novel, ‘The Murder Prophet.’ It’s on the top of my 2015 to-read book pile. (Work and the holidays cut into my reading time, how sucky is that!?) Sherry  is one hell of a writer, an amazing friend, and a kick ass editor and publisher. I feel lucky to have worked with the women of Third Person Press for all of these anthologies. Every time I submit something, I anxiously await to hear if I am accepted or not. And when I have been accepted, they work with me to further polish the story. They have been patient and put up with texts and phone calls. They have made me a better writer and I am proud to also be able to call them friends.

So that’s the gist of my evening. Once I did my reading I was able to relax and mingle. I’m not sure what the future has in store for me as far as more publishing news go, but I do hope that this isn’t my last book launch!



2 thoughts on “Book Release!

Leave a Reply

