Book Review: Lover Unleashed by J.R Ward

Standard

I’m not used to doing book reviews. This is something really new to me. So I ask that you be patient with me. I’m sure in time I will get better. (I hope.)

Today I sat down and finished ‘Lover Unleashed’, book nine in the Black dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward.

I should back track just a tad. If you haven’t read any of these books, let me give you a brief idea of them.

The series is a vampire romance, and the Brotherhood is a group of big, badass warriors. The books are full of dark fantasy, romance, drama, ass kickin’ and some fun twists added in. The Brotherhood protects the ‘civilian’ vampires from their enemy, known as the Lessers. (I do think they could have been named something better, but whatever. The term has grown on me.)

If you decide to read these books, I highly suggest starting from book one, Dark Lover.

Summary from the book jacket:

In the darkest corners of the night in Caldwell, New York, a conflict like no other rages. The city is home to a band of brothers born to defend their race: The warrior vampires of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

Payne, twin sister of Vishous, is cut from the same dark, seductive cloth as her brother. Imprisoned for eons by their mother, the Scribe Virgin, she finally frees herself – only to face a devastating injury.

Manuel Manello, MD, is drafted by the Brotherhood to save her as only he can – but when the human surgeon and the vampire warrior meet, their two worlds collide in the face of their undeniable passion. With so much working against them, can love prove stronger than the birth right and the biology that separate them?

My thoughts:

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t exactly looking forward to sitting down and reading this one. I had devoured books one through eight, yet paused on the series for several months because book nine felt daunting. (Also, after power reading the first eight, I needed to read something else for a bit before I got back on the vampire wagon, so to speak.)

The reason is this: I wasn’t looking forward to Manny. When he appeared in another book, I figured he was there just for a small purpose, never to be seen again, and I didn’t pay much attention to him. I just didn’t like him.

But now that I read the book, I am so glad I did. While this is not the best (in my opinion) in the series, it is far from the worst.

Payne and Manny are a better couple then I originally thought, but they didn’t have the ‘pop!’ that the other couples had in the previous books.

I found there were too many point of views. In the start of the series, it is just a couple POV: the vampire, his mate, and the enemy. But at the series continued, more POV were added. (Which usually I don’t mind at all. I was used to the format of the first few books, so adding in more characters through me off. It makes sense though, as there are a lot of them. Plus more side stories help keep the series going.)

I did enjoy seeing more of Vishous and his shellen Jane. He has a big fan base, and his fans will agree he is better then ’50 Shades’. ( I have no thoughts on this, I have yet to read those books.) It was great to see his POV again, more of his back story, and how he deals with his Jane. (Who is a ghost, BTW.)

The book also introduced new vampires, a group called The Band of Bastards, who came from Europe. This book laid some foundation for what’s to come. I am looking forward to the trouble they will cause, and how King Wrath and his warriors will deal with them.

I was rooting for Payne and Manny the entire time. Payne suffers an injury, and Manny being an amazing surgeon, is brought in to help her and heal her. He is a human, but yet begins to face some odd experiences, things that only male vampires have. When he first sees her, one word comes to mind: MINE.

I love how he adores her, and aches for her. I love that Manny will do anything for her and it broke my heart when I didn’t see a way for them to be together. Neither thought that a future together was possible. Their love is slower paced but yet romantic. I admit I loved Manny quickly. And I think other readers did (and will) as well.

One side story with Quinn and Blay, well, it seemed kinda pointless. We didn’t see their POV very often, and the little I learned (that Quinn is suffering from not telling Blay he loves him), could have been shown in another way. There wasn’t much development on their story and I feel that their POV could have been left out.

I think I will leave it here, because if not, I know I will let out every single spoiler and basically end up summarizing the entire book. When it comes to this series, I can talk on and on and on about it.

Have you read this book? Or any of the BDB series? If so, tell me your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

