Book Review: Lover Reborn

Standard

lover rebornBack Cover: Ever since the death of his shellan, Tohrment has been a heartbroken shadow of the vampire leader he once was. Brought back to the Brotherhood by a self-serving fallen angel, he fights again with ruthless vengeance, unprepared for a new tragedy. Seeing his beloved in dreams—trapped in a cold, isolated netherworld—Tohr turns to the angel Lassiter to save his former mate. The only way to rescue her is for Tohr to love another. As war with the lessers rages, and a new clan of vampires vie for the Blind King’s throne, Tohr struggles between an unforgettable past and a hot, passion-filled future. But can his heart let go and set all of them free?

My Rating: 5 out of 5

My Review: Lover reborn is book 10 in the Blackdagger Brotherhood series. It is now in the top 3 of my favorites for this series. It almost comes in first, but Rhage (book #2) will always be my #1!

Ok so, I was looking forward to this book for awhile. Tohrment was one of my favorite brothers since book one. His character has pretty much gone through hell and back, and finally he gets his own book and happily ever after.

Through the coarse of the series, the man Tohr looked up to as a father/best friend was killed, his shellan was murdered, his best friend and Brother (the Blind King) was severely injured, had a rift with his adopted son, and he was on the brink of death himself. If it wasn’t for a sassy fallen angel, he would have died. When he returned home to the mansion to be with his Brothers, Tohr was the shell of who he used to be. And come on, after everything he went through, who could blame the guy?

Lassiter informs Tohr that his late shellan, Wellsie, has not moved onto the Fade. That she is stuck in the In Between, and if Tohrment doesn’t move on, his beloved will vanish with their unborn son into nothingness. And it’s not just Wellsie’s fate at stake. Lassiter has been sent to help him move on, and he doesn’t think he’s the angel for the job.

Meanwhile we have No’One, once a female of worth, she comes from the Other Side to be with her daughter. She has her own horrible past and renamed herself No’One, since that is how she sees herself. Later she is renamed, and I loved the new name and how it happened.

I loved watching Tohr and No’one become friends, and then slowly turn into more. He denied any feelings of love even though to me it was obvious. A couple of times I yelled at the book (am I the only one who does that!?) because I just wanted them to realize their love and be happy.

We also seen more of the Band of Bastards. The leader, Xcor, wants to overthrow Wrath and become King of the vampire race. We haven’t seen much of the Lessers, aside from the fights with them. (I hate when I have to read the point of view of one of those baby powder scented bastards.)

This was the best book I have read in this series in awhile. I enjoyed the last few but they didn’t have me this engrossed. Tohr ripped my heart up on more then one occasion. I am a sucker for pain and angst in a book and this poor guy has it in spades. Needless to say, I cried with him but I also cried for him.

Some people online were worried that the WARDen couldn’t pull this story off. She totally did. I had faith in her.

Now that this book is finished, I have two books to go before I am caught up, but I doubt I will get both finished before the newest is released at the end of the month. I need to track down a copy of ‘The King’, and luckily for me I have ‘Lover at Last’ sitting on my shelf waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

