Quick Update and Book Review

Standard

I have spent the last week being very sick. The flu that hit me was the worst one I have gone through in a long time. Nothing like waking up feeling like death for days on end.

And on top of that, Cape Breton had the storm of the century. And just a couple of days later, I am home from work due to a snow day. yet another 20 cm is barreling down on us. Oh. Joy.

During these days, I managed to finish my current book, ‘Lover at Last’ by JR Ward. This is my last JR Ward book for a bit. While I am dying to get into the next book of the series, ‘The King’, I don’t have it yet. Today I started a Stephen King to break things up just a tad.

My mind was pretty wonky when I read ‘Lover At Last.’ Between three days of no sleep (I wish I was joking) and flu meds, my head was fuzzy. But I was able to read it and still enjoyed it.

loveratlasstBack Cover: Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another….

Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: The male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young—just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned firsthand.

Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions… but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together… finally become one.

My Thoughts: When all is said and done, I really enjoyed this book. It was the one I have been dying to get to for awhile. I did feel a bit disappointed in the execution of this novel.

One thing I did with this book that I hadn’t really done with the others (and I am ashamed to admit it) was skim over several scenes. Most of the ones with Assail and Sola. I’m supposed to care about characters and I didn’t care about these two at all. I felt like this wasn’t the book to see their POV. I ended up skipping these parts, to get on with the rest of the story. I felt the attention was taken away from Quinn and Blay and it was supposed to be ‘their’ book.

There was a lot of character development, especially with Quinn. I have loved Quinn since the first time we see him. He is a strong character and in this book does some epic things, including pulling off the mother of Hail Mary’s when flying a plane for the first time, and coming to terms with who he is, and finds the courage to…well, you will have to read the book to find that out.

There were too many different POV’s, but I did love  seeing the POV of Wrath, The Blind King, yet again. I miss seeing the minds of the original Brothers, the ones who the first number of books centered around. The more into the series we go, the less of their POV we see. (That is why I am so stoked about the Legacy series, where we will see the main Brothers yet again.)

Also, I found there was just a bit too much angst. I felt like the end result could have happened a bit sooner so we could have seen some more of the happier moments. I felt for Quinn because he’s already had so much crap happen to him in his life that I just wanted him to be happy already. The guy deserves it.

Overall I loved it. JR Ward is a fantastic author who has created in depth characters, keeps the story going with plot twists, leaves you hanging and wanting more.

As much as I love vampires, I am now into an adventure with the King of Horror. After that, I’m not too sure. What are you reading? What’s next on your reading list?

Leave a Reply

