This Isn’t My Real Face: Writing As Someone Else

Standard

I love to journal and it is one of those things I have gotten away from this year. I love this idea of writing as one of my characters. I have one character in mind, and this will help me get into his mind set. Plus it sounds really fun!

Bare Knuckle Writer

HI.

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve gone back to my journalling ways*, partially as a writing aid, mostly as a brain and mental health aid. Surprise: I’ve got some faulty wiring upstairs. Who’s shocked? Anyone?

Anyway, I thought I’d share the other, less well-adjusted side to my journalling: about half the time, I journal as someone else.

This isn’t as insane as it sounds. Well, it probably is, but since I’m a writer I can get away with that shit.

Most of the time*** I write as one of my characters, in an effort to get inside their weaselly little brains and make me understanding of them more complete. This works because:

1) People write shit in their journals that they’d never tell anyone.

2) While they’re not always honest, they do present the facts as they see them. Other opinions matter less.

3) Often I can work out…

View original post 244 more words

Leave a Reply

