My Love Of Books And A Question To My Fellow Bookworms

Standard

I’ve loved books all my life. Before my father passed away he told me how when I was about nine months old, if I was passed a book and it was backwards or upside down I would flip it right side up or turn it around.

I remember being three years old, mom or dad taking me to bed and being read to. And then asking for a second and third story.

When I was five I would sit for my oldest brother and tell him crazy stories about dragons and a princess and unicorns.

I remember the first word I ever read. I was in first grade and I ran off the bus yelling “Mom, I can read!!” I remember feeling so proud at being able to read the word “the”.

When I learned how to write I started putting my own words to paper and dreamed of being in a book. Seeing my very own story in print. In third grade my story (of a total of ten lines, I think) was picked to be published in a book called “Forever Friends”, which has stories from students in each grade, in schools across the province. And in high school another story, this one longer, was published.

I remember spending summers reading a box of books.

When my first short story was published in an anthology from Third Person Press, I was so proud of myself. Even though my dad can’t see what I have accomplished the last few years, he got to see me live my dream: my story in a book, and I got paid for it.

My point is, books and reading have been a part of my life for longer then I can remember. There is nothing I love more then diving into a new book. And so here is (finally, I know) my question:

What is your favorite quote about reading or books in general?

I am starting to focus on  my next tattoo. My first ink has meaning for me, and I plan to do that with each piece I get.

And it makes perfect sense to make my next one about my love of reading and the written word. There’s so many images and quotes to pick from. I think it will be an elaborate piece. So now the brainstorming has begun.

What is your favorite quote? If you were to get a tattoo reflecting your love of books (or even a certain book), what would it be? 🙂

3 thoughts on “My Love Of Books And A Question To My Fellow Bookworms

  1. I do not have a particular favourite quote about books and reading, there are so many that I have read especially Jane Austen one about having an excellent library because books are the deal (signifant paraphrase). I enjoyed reading about your excitement for reading as a child.

    Like

  2. I don’t know if I have a specific favorite quote. Two of my (many) favorites are “I spent my life folded between the pages of books” and “Reading is dreaming with open eyes”, but I don’t know who said them, so I don’t know if you’d want to use them. I also have a huge pinterest board about reading and there are a ton of quotes on there. Here is the link if you want to take a look: https://www.pinterest.com/gorjessina17/to-live-a-million-lives/

    Like

Leave a Reply

