Half Book Review, Half Rant

Standard

So this past weekend I finished reading “The King” by J.R Ward. It is the 12th book in the Blackdagger Brotherhood series.
the king 2Now, anyone who knows me (or have read some of my reviews of the series), knows that I LOVE these books. In fact, I am obsessed over them and I have claimed Rhage as my book boyfriend.

I usually devour these books quickly. While I have had issues with a couple of the books in the past (with so many books, not every one of them will be your favorite), but this book…this book took me ages to read.

Like, over a month. I just couldn’t get into it.

When I heard about ‘The King’, I was very excited. I had loved Wrath’s book (Dark Lover, #1 in the series) and I was very much looking forward to reading his next book.

But what I hoped for and what I got was two different things.

For starters, I found the book was diluted down with too many side stories. (I swear if this happens with Rhage’s book next year- The Beast- I will be one unhappy girl.)

For instance, I think that Sola and Assail would have been much better off in another book entirely. I found their scenes in ‘Lover At Last’ felt as if they were just randomly thrown in there. I pretty much skipped those scenes since I wanted to get back to the ‘real’ story.

I loved Wrath’s parents, seeing them and learning more about what happened to them. I loved JM’s scenes and wished there had been more of them. And of coarse given the fact someone wants the throne, I knew the villain would come into play but sadly his PoV was less often then I thought it would be. I really didn’t like how he tried to take the throne on a political way with the glymera. Not that I wanted him to succeed in his mission, but I found this to be boring.

Also, I was irked from the get go with Beth. Which is why I think I had a hard time getting into the book.

Wrath’s shellen is a strong, independent character. What she pulled off in the beginning annoyed me to no end. She basically did the vampire version of trying to trick her man into getting her pregnant. Which I think is dirty pool, even for humans. Beth tried to kick start her needing by spending time with another female vamp, while Wrath was dead set against having a child.

The book also included Trez’s Pov which sets things up for the next book called “The Shadows.” I’ll be honest, I skipped a lot of these parts too. Trez grew as a character throughout the novel, but that’s all about all I liked. Well, aside from his brother iAm, who I think is the better of the two brothers.

There was lots that I loved about this book too. Seeing Wrath become a dad and what it did to him was fantastic. I felt heartsick for him when Beth began to bleed and having to call Doc Jane. Being blind, the only thing he could do aside from panic was hold her hand and rely on others to tell him what was going on.

And of coarse seeing bits of the Brotherhood, like when Wrath and Beth had a human wedding. There were parts that had me laughing out loud which makes me excited for the new Legacy series, where we will see more of them and the slices of life we don’t get to see so much anymore.

All in all, I give this a 4 out of 5. I did love every minute of Wrath and most of Beth. (I got over being pissed off, and for good reason.) Had it included more of them and less of others, it would have been a better read.

So, have you read ‘The King’? What did you think? Am I the only one who felt like they needed to rant while reading it?

Leave a Reply

