My Unique Thanksgiving Tradition

Standard

So we all (ok, a good amount of us) have the usual way of celebrating Thanksgiving. Family. Food. And turkey. Lots and lots of turkey.

My Thanksgiving tradition is a bit different. Yes, we have the turkey. And the family is around. Oh, and Mom’s pumpkin pie. Yum.

Several years ago, my family started doing something extra. We basically pack up some cars (sometimes there’s five, sometimes there’s two), with food and family and take a mini road trip. And some of us doing something that gets the attention of any tourists. Which is something I started. πŸ˜› (More on that in a bit πŸ˜› )

Since my niece is getting married this weekend (which I so can’t wait for!) some of us took our little road trip yesterday. The only downside: my cam was basically dead when we started. Boo.

I live in Cape Breton, which is home of stunning scenery, especially along the Cabot Trail. We take in some of this on our road trip.

First thing is a drive towards Kelly’s mountain and a turn off to Englishtown to catch the ferry for a two minute ride.

look off

View from Kelly’s Mountain. I took this photo last year.

cabot trail and toronto 010

A quick pic from the ferry!

cabot trail and toronto 014

Almost to the other side!

Then we start stopping off at various shops. (There are a lot of artisans around here!)

sew inclined

My sister and cousin outside of Sew Inclined.

One of these stops took us to ‘Sew Inclined’. The owner makes and sells some funky, cool, and stunning hats. She let us try some on. One made us laugh, while another I really wanted to buy. The owner is a sweet, chatty lady with great talent behind her!

wildfire

We didn’t stop here this year, but when we do I love checking out the used books! πŸ™‚

We continued on and began the drive up Smokey mountain. It is a twisty drive and there is a great view of the ocean.

smokey

*NOT my pic* Here’s a pic I found of a view of the mountain. Told ya it was twisty! πŸ™‚

cabot trail and toronto 016

Pic I did take πŸ™‚ Just one view from the top of the mountain.

After our stop on Smokey, we continue to Ingonish. We found a spot that has ‘our’ tree.

sib and ma

Momma Fudge on the left, my sister on the right. This is ‘our’ tree. We (as in, my fam) have been taking pics here since long as I can remember.

Before the pictures we had some grub! There was some great eats, and my mom’s carrot cake was my dessert. πŸ™‚

cabot trail and toronto 021

This cozy spot had a hut, stove, and several picnic tables.

My FAVORITE part came next. The event I was looking forward to since last October. The thing we do that grabs attention from tourists.

cabot trail and toronto 029

Ingonish Beach.

See this wonderful sandy beach? See those waves? See that wooden pathway?

I ran down it, and straight into the water!!!

If you don’t live around here, then you don’t know that swimming this time of year-especially the ocean!- isn’t common.

cabot trail and toronto 034

Me heading into the water.

A tourist, a very sweet lady who was wearing a coat and scarf, laughed and said she would take a couple of photos for me while I waited for the others to change. She didn’t think my run would end with me actually getting into the water.

cabot trail and toronto 037

I LOVE this pic.

cabot trail and toronto 045

The waves were crazy awesome! Some knocked us off of our feet!

me sib linda

We felt so good and refreshed after our time in the water.

I enjoy watching the bundled up tourists have a laugh or looked shocked. Yesterday we were asked if we were from Alaska. Nope, we just have Cape Breton blood in our veins. πŸ˜‰

This isn’t everyone’s Thanksgiving, but it’s mine. And I wouldn’t change a thing about it. ❀

Leave a Reply

