10 of My Favorite Horror Movies From The 1980’s

Standard

And in no particular order!!!

I love Halloween. And I love a good horror movie. And I love them when they aren’t so scary, too.

I’ve been in old school mode and have been re-watching some of the movies I watched growing up. So here are ten of my all time faves. (Keep in mind I am a huge movie buff and my fave list is as big as my favorite book list).

#1- A nightmare on Elm Street. I’ve been a massive Freddy Kruegar fan since I was a kid. I started watching these movies earlier then a kid should. But I grew up to be normal. Well…I wouldn’t say normal, but I could be worse. 😉

freddy n me

Myself and Mr. C with Robert Englund!!!

#2-Fright Night. I love a good vampire movie. And this is one of my faves, including the new version.

#3- The Lost Boys. And speaking of vampires, I can’t forget this classic. The Lost Boys is a movie I (sadly) didn’t get to see until a couple of years ago. I recently wrote a fan letter to Keifer Sutherland and I really hope he signs the pic of ‘David’ that I sent.

Lost_boys

#4- My Bloody Valentine. This movie was filmed locally!!! Woot!!! I really need to sit and have a re-watch of this soon, since it has been ages. I watched the remake with Mister in our early days of dating.

#5- Critters. I blame my sister for getting me hooked on creature features. If they are small like these guys or as massive as Godzilla, I want to watch the movie!!!

#6. Gremlins. Who couldn’t love the lil face of Gizmo?! I would love to have a Mogwai. However, I’d make sure not to break any of the three rules.

gizmo

That face though ❤

#7- Beetlejuice. Do you know how excited I am about the sequel?!?! I am also a little terrified. Because I loved the first one so much, I am wondering how the sequel will go. It’s always a 50/50 shot of them getting it right or screwing it up. However, Tim Burton is involved soooooo odds are I’ll love it!

#8-Teen Wolf. Not exactly a horror, but I’m pretty sure it helped to fuel my love of supernatural. I used to watch this movie over and over again.

#9-Pet Semetary. Being the animal lover I am, I loved the idea of a graveyard, even a creepy one, could bring a pet back to life. But the dead should stay that way. This take on zombies is the one that creeps me out more then ‘The Walking Dead’.

#10- Maximum Overdrive. Yet another from The King of Horror on my list. Maximum overdrive was the first Stephen movie I have ever watched. I was fascinated with it. It introduced me to the world of sci-fi and horror and I wanted more. Every so often I look at my toaster and think of this movie… 😉

maximum overdrive

And who wouldn’t be freaked the hell out seeing this coming at you?!

What are some of your favorite horror movies from this decade? 🙂

Leave a Reply

