One Week To Go

Standard

A week from today is Halloween, which means that NaNoWriMo is on the horizon. For all of us taking part, we have one full week left to plot, plan and brainstorm. To get in as many finishing touches as we need to begin what I affectionately call ‘The Month From Hell’. (Or as one of my friends call it, ‘The Month That Kerry Disappears’.)

I am panicking slightly.

Okay, I’m lying. I am panicking A LOT.

Which is normal for this time of year. I feel like I am back in highschool and a big exam is in a few days and I realized that I haven’t really even begun to study.

I’m not totally unprepared. I’m writing a dark fairy tale/fantasy. So I have a map printed off and I have gotten totally addicted to creating a little world. I have a semblance of a plot. I don’t like planning every moment because that takes the fun out of writing the actual story. I have a hero I am in love with and he is so fun to work with. He’s flawed and has an interesting backstory and has these little secrets. And he’s yet to tell them all to me.

My heroine is another story. I like her, I really do. But creating her is a bit more…work then it is to create my hero. And I still need to add touches to my world building and figure out a bit more of my actual story.

The part that worries me is my FMC, because I don’t want her feeling like a cardboard cut out the day I start writing.

How is your novel planning going? Are you all ready to go or are you panicked like I am?

4 thoughts on “One Week To Go

  1. I’m itching to start writing! I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before, but I’ve called myself a writer forever. I can see my MC’s, Tom and Daisy in my mind as vividly as if I had seen them just yesterday for afternoon brunch. They have backstories and secrets, most of which I believe they have revealed to me, but I’m counting on a few surprises. I’ve decided to set my novel in my own city (Hamilton, Ontario) so I had this wicked idea of putting myself in as a cameo. I’ll put myself, maybe the Hamilton Dancing Man, and the Elvis impersonator that sings outside my work in the novel and see if my friends and family can pick us out. Obviously I plan on making it a bestseller, because why not dream big!
    Good luck! Breathe deep and just let it flow. As per you female MC, maybe you need to take her by the hand and sit her down for coffee, or tea if she prefers it. Then ask her all the questions you want to know the answers to. You might be surprised with what you come up with! 🙂

    Like

    • TheGeekyBookLady

      Your plans sound awesome!!! I have set my published short stories in my home (Cape Breton, Nova Scotia) but never thought of putting in a few things like that. Very cool! And thank you! I have been planning on having a talk with her soon, hopefully over the weekend. Good luck to you too!!! My first year of NaNo taught me how to tune out my inner critic. Oh! And your characters will ALWAYS surprise you! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

