Geek Wedding: The Shoes

Standard

I have been excited to start making my comic book shoes for the wedding. About a month or so ago I finally found the perfect shoes to wear on the big day that I could also get crafty with.I bought a pair of black wedge heels.

This morning  my best friend and MoH came over. And so it began! We turned off our writer brain and tapped into the crafty side.

comic book shoes 1

The starting process.

We started by cutting thin strips and used Modge Podge to glue it down and seal it. Some strips we cut worked out perfectly. I especially liked the ‘Ha Ha!’ seen here.

comic book shoes 2

The right sides of the shoes. We worked on one each, helping each other as we went. (Ok, more like I needed the help 😛 )

We then cut out scenes and pictures to fill in the black space. Once finished, we used more Modge Podge to seal it. A thin coat is all that was needed (so far).

comic book shoes 3

Excuse the messy table. Crafts aren’t exactly neat endeavors. 😉

While they are pretty much a finished shoe, we just need to cut out some small images and wording like ‘Bam!’ and I have a ‘KaPow!’ somewhere too. We will add those, then give the shoes one or two more coats of the Modge Podge.

We had a lot of fun making these. My wedding shoes have Rocket, a wookie, Superman and more!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

