Getting Back In The Writing Grove

Standard

Aside from not reading last year, my writing sadly went to the side as well. Although I did manage to write about 10k during Nanowrimo, so the year wasn’t a total waste.

I feel sad when I think about the writing I could have done over the last year. How lack I have been. My wedding planning really did consume me, so it isn’t like I was slacking off totally.

It is a new year and a fresh start. I have gotten back to my book pile, and now it’s time to get back into the word mines, too.

Last night was our first writer’s group meeting of the year. I love my group. I always find inspiration or am given a kick in the butt to get going.

I have two projects I want to work on this year at the very least. One will probably be a short story in a series I write. (You can check it out along with other great authors and stories over here)  I also have an idea for a genre I have yet to write. I have no idea yet if it will be a short story or novel yet. Time will tell.

My problem right now is getting back to the groove. But thanks to one of my friends, I have a plan now. I tend to put too much pressure on myself which is a big way of setting myself up for failure.

I am going to start off by writing for fifteen minutes a day. Fifteen minutes is a small chunk of time, and it will help getting the wheels greased. If (and when!) I go over the time limit, bonus! I also need to make notes and brainstorm but of coarse that won’t come from my writing time.

So, if you are having a hard time writing, try to write for a short time each day. Don’t stress or put pressure on yourself. Writing should be fun, not a chore.

What are some things you have done to get back into writing?

Now if you will excuse me, I have an opening scene to work on. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

