Ok so I fibbed…but just a little

Standard

I said before that I wasn’t rushing the summer away. But I guess that isn’t really true. As much as I love (and need) sunshine and long days, I am really REALLY eager for fall to come.

I try not to rush the summer, because I dread winter. In my part of the world, sometimes winter feels never ending. In Cape Breton, sometimes winter starts in November and we are lucky if the snow is gone in April. (I remember a snow storm once on May 18th… *shudder*) And, I don’t do well in the winter. My depression is at it’s worst, especially by February and March. We were lucky a few years in a row to have mild winters that nobody minded. But we paid for that since. (Snowmageddon and the Snopocalypse).

I love autumn, especially October. I mean, what isn’t to love?! Thanksgiving, Halloween, apple cider, corn mazes, and the splendid colors that fall brings, just to name a few.

I am already mentally making a fall to do list. It is hard not to, especially since my Pinterest feed is filled with everything autumn and spooky.

When it comes to my writing, I am mostly putting fiction to the side. I want to work on this blog (don’t hold your breath, but let’s see what happens 😉 ), and journal. Not just randomness but write down memories of my dad, life events, etc… Try to catch up on those sorts of things.

I won’t stay away from fiction totally. I plan to use my favorite time to write a short story. Maybe give horror another shot or just a fun or spooky story set on Halloween.

So, hate me if you must but fall is calling my name. I want the crisp evenings, comfy sweaters and to hear the crunching of leaves beneath my feet.

What season soothes your soul?

 

2 thoughts on “Ok so I fibbed…but just a little

  1. Great post! I love fall! But I’m funny about August. It’s that weird transition month, when it’s still nice but ya know thats going to end real soon and things are going to get crazy in September when the kids go back to school.

    Once we’re into late September, early October, I’m cool. Then I can enjoy the leaves changing, the sun low in the sky, hiking in the cool air.

    Lets not talk about November, okay?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment