Writer Gears Are Rusty But They Are Turning

Standard

With October around the corner, there’s a lot on my mind. I love fall and all that comes with it. And usually part of that is prepping for NaNoWriMo.

Until yesterday, I didn’t even know if I was going to do it or not. None of my recent ideas or projects I wanted to start interested me. With the wedding officially less then a year, I have a lot to do and get done for it. I feel stressed, and NaNo is for sure an added stress and time bandit.

I was at work, cleaning up and the like when all of a sudden an idea hit me. Something fun. Something I think I can get really creative with. And it excited me!

I haven’t written a heck of a lot this year. I’ve had personal issues and a lot has been put on the back burner. It made me sad that my ‘writer brain’ was sitting, getting rusty, and I wondered if I would ever use it again.

Right away I scribbled a few notes down before my next client came in. I don’t have a whole lot planned out, not even a full skeleton. But I have something to start with. A basic idea and two characters. That’s enough for me to get into my novel prep!

Over the next few days and over the coarse of October, I will build and create my main characters, and do some world building. I will work on character sketches, create a story board on Pinterest, a ‘Novel Bible’, and do a lot of brainstorming.

So, fellow writers, have you decided if you are taking part in NaNoWriMo? If so, do you have an inkling as to what you’re writing about, or still in “maybe I will just wing it” mode? Do tell! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Writer Gears Are Rusty But They Are Turning

  1. Sounds exciting! Being at the very early stages of an idea can be so much fun! I’m still hoping a new idea will spark, doing free writing every day for that goal. I do have a story partially outlined that I can write if I need to, but for this year, I’d like to write something fresh and unrelated to my previous writings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • TheGeekyBookLady

      Yes, it can be so much fun! 🙂 I know what you mean. It’s good to start with a fresh project. I think doing something totally different will be fun. I have written a lot with the same characters for a number of years now. I love writing a series with them, but I need something new.

      Liked by 1 person

      • A change of pace can be nice. Plus, I’m still revising the first novel I finished, and have a second waiting its turn. There’s no rush to add a third in the same series to that wait list. Maybe something that’s more for fun than to fix up and try to publish would be refreshing this year.

        Like

  2. lalumii

    Wow! I’m kind of the opposite, in some respects. I have a skeleton, ideas for characters, and I know how I want my book to end… but I’m just afraid to write it! I feel like I won’t have time, that my idea will be silly… I’m basically making excuses.
    I wish you the most luck ever with starting your novel. It’s so hard to get up and running, but you can do it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • TheGeekyBookLady

      Don’t think negatively 🙂 If you don’t write the 50k, that’s ok! At least you wrote something! Maybe my idea is silly too, but I am writing it for me. Don’t worry about what anyone else thinks. Have fun with it and don’t let that inner critic get you down! I wish you the best of luck as well!!!! You CAN do it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment